Module Three ~ Literature Review

8 thoughts on “Module Three ~ Literature Review”

  1. My literature review will be on how online classes can enhance educational opportunities for ESL students. The topic is important to me because education in America is necessary for us to function effectively as a democracy. All students should have access to it regardless of their language skills. Anyone who has the desire to improve their position in life should have access to the means to do this. Tools in online learning can give these students a better chance at being successful in higher education.

    What a fantastic topic! In teaching my blended classroom this year, I have had two students come directly from Mexico. One had some experience with computers and had decided he wanted to be a computer engineer. The other had never been on a computer before. The language barrier was greater with the later student. They have grown so much in this year, we have had successes and failure. But what I see here is a great potential to help students and teachers such as myself. I have very limited resources within an hour, and I have had success, but if their were more support for students on an online course with the cohort feel, these students would feel so much more supported in their learning. I really like this topic you have chosen. Do you have ideas as to specifics? A library research support class or other support class? What would you call it?

  2. Hi Kristine,

    You chose the topic related to ESL students’ experience in online too. In fact, many international or ESL students have joined online programs in USA. It is important to understand their experience. Have you visited Bethany’s Blog?
    You mentioned about the collaborative learning. As I wrote to Bethany, you may also see how ESL students would be different by communication modes- asynchronous or synchronous.

    The references you listed seem to be good and relevant to your topic.
    I look forward to your literature review!

    Baek

    1. Hi Dr. Baek,

      Yes I saw Bethany’s blog on the topic. I think we are approaching it from different angles so hopefully they will be different enough to be interesting. Actually, reading her blog put a question in my mind as to whether hybrid courses might be even more effective for international college students, but I don’t want to wander too far off of my original topic.

  3. Hi Kristine,
    You bring up an extremely interesting point about collaborative learning and the cohort model in that, “Some schools use the cohort method which allows for students to support each other as they move through their classes at the same pace. This can also help the online student to feel supported.” However, collaborative learning (as well as the cohort model) has its’ downside, such as one member carrying the team because one or some of the other members are slacking off. Students have these reservations about group work in traditional classes, so I was wondering if you thought of ways to address these concerns.

    1. Hi Melissa,

      Unfortunately, these are the same issues that these students will face in the real world. Collaboration is necesssary for any educator, and they will encounter instances when they will be carrying a major share of the load. That being said. Requiring students to specify their contribution to the task to the instructor may force them to have greater input.

    2. Kristine,

      I think this is a great topic and yes it is related to mine which I think is a great thing! In my research I found that international students who were not native English speakers did like online courses for the fact that it did help them with their English vocabulary, reading, and writing skills but that they were not effective in helping students build relationships, which is something they really need when studying in a foreign country. I really look forward to what you found.

  4. Hi, Kristine: Thank you for sharing what works and what doesn’t. I have met other ESL teachers who want to continue teaching in the “traditional” way and I just don’t see where that will achieve the highest standards. I have met many of these families in my work with parents, and they would love to learn how to use computers FOR EVERYTHING! I encourage them because I know it becomes a “family learning situation” — their children need technology for K-12 education and parents need it for language, shopping, emailing, etc. I will look forward to your literature review.

  5. Hello! I agree that technology becomes a family experience particularly for EEL students. I am a librarian and found when working in the public library that the children often became the communicators for their parents. The same was true for technology. The children would show their parents how to use computers and search. I have also noticed that with my EEL college students who are a bit older. They rely on their kids to provide them guidance in navigating the technology.

Leave a Reply

